R.I.P. J. Dilla

February 11, 2009

It’s been 3 years since James Yancey aka Jay Dee “Dilla” passed away from lupus. Dilla was and will forever be looked upon as the illest, most creative producer of our time. I remember when I first met Dilla outside of Maurice Malone’s shop in Detroit back in 94/95′ and again in 2000 when I got invited to the Slum Village – Raise It Up video shoot at Universal Studios in LA. We smoked one on the set and even though Dilla was getting his Hollywood on, you could just tell how genuine he was. His music plays a important part in my life as well as others worldwide. Wherever you are make sure you find a Dilla event to attend in your area this month and donate to MaDukes to assist with her lupus struggles and the unfinished business of the Dilla estate.

J. Dilla, The Greatest of All Time

Dilla Forever!

Leave a comment